Testing Taylor Pass Course

Tomorrow the open grade will compete in a 48km handicap event covering 4 laps of the out and return Taylor Pass course. The rolling course is always a test for all riders with groups staying intact having the best chance of success. Fastest time honours have been closely fought out lately with the possibility of eight riders on the scratch mark on a full turnout. A strong break group is also forming with International rider Georgia Catterick adding to their strength last week. This is keeping the scratch group honest. There will also be a shorter handicap event for Junior Under 17 riders and others who don’t want to do the open distance. Please assemble at the Mountain Bike Carpark at 1pm for a 1.30pm start. Open grade $5 Junior $3 All riders welcome.

Close Finish For Anderson Rosebowl

A successful new course for the prestigious Anderson Rosebowl. Two laps of the Marlborough Open course taking in the Benmorven circuit, Marlborough Ridge Drive climb and Godfreys Road turn, was a good test for the riders. The 40km handicap event had an extremely close finish with the 8m30s and 14m riders combining in the last 5km to hold off the strong 5m break group by a mere 8 seconds at the line. Ian Martella (8m30s) had his third Trophy win of the season with a strong finishing sprint to head off Katie Batt (14m) and Stephen Rooney (8m30s). The break riders were headed in by Niels van Antwerpen, Adam Bidwell and Georgia Catterick. Fastest time honours went to Andrew Bidwell from Gerard van Antwerpen and Nick Batt. The junior under 17 Keighley Cup event was run over one lap of the Benmorven circuit with Matthew Hall edging out Jack Love in the sprint to the line. Results: Anderson Rosebowl 40km hcp- I Martella (8m30s) 1, K Batt (14m) 2, S Rooney (8m30s) 3, C Anderson (8m30s) 4, N van Antwerpen (5m) 5, J Sherwood (14m) 6, Adam Bidwell (5m) 7, G Catterick (5m) 8, M Thompson (5m) 9, R Olliver (5m) 10. Fastest time- Andrew Bidwell (scr) 60m14s 1, G van Antwerpen (scr) s.t. 2, N Batt (scr) 60m26s 3, C Harper (scr) s.t. 4, N van Antwerpen (5m) 63m38s 5. Keighley Cup 9km hcp- M Hall (scr) 21m42s 1, J Love (scr) 21m43s 2.